23 November 2011
At Flag Fen near Peterborough visitors can see not one but two old routes through the fens, both now unused and only newly visible since the 1980s. The main route through the site is a 1 km long wooden trackway that was built in the Bronze Age, between 1350 and 950 BC. A section of this is visible to the public in the Preservation Hall, preserved in situ, with posts indicating where it continues under the surface of todays fen landscape. This trackway dates from a time before Fen drainage when the majority of the area was marsh land. It links the two dry ‘islands’ of Fengate and Northey. It originally consisted of five lines of timber posts that supported the wooden walkway, and it has been estimated that nearly quarter of a million timbers were used in the construction. The rows are not believed to be contemporary to each other, but were replaced as they rotted, over a 400 year period of use.
Posted by Alice Kershaw, Heritage Regeneration Officer, Opportunity Peterborough and Peterborough City Council
Enter your email address below to join our mailing list: