03 February 2012
Eastbrook Hall, formerly the ‘Methodist Cathedral of the North’, was opened in 1904. By the 1980s, it sat abandoned and a major fire in 1996 left it derelict, burnt out and roofless. It is an iconic building in ‘Little Germany’ – a 20 acre conservation area in the heart of Bradford with a unique collection of 55 listed buildings constructed in the latter half of the nineteenth century. At the time, Eastbrook Hall was the largest building in Little Germany and despite years of neglect, it still retained a strong presence in the area and remained one of the best-loved landmarks in Bradford.
The Prince’s Regeneration Trust became involved in 2002 and worked with local stakeholders to find a viable use that would provide housing and business space to the community while still retaining its wonderful historic fabric. During the restoration, a great deal of beautiful stained glass was found and this was saved and restored – encouraging local craftsmanship.
The completed redevelopment of Eastbrook Hall includes apartments arranged around a central courtyard with parking at the lower level. Retail and commercial spaces have been created while still retaining the stunning Grade II Listed facades – which have been restored with minimal alterations. The extensive and detailed restoration work has seen this historic building returned to its former architectural glory while ensuring its future as a commercial and residential building for generations to come. In November 2008, the regenerated building was officially opened by our President His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales.
Post by Penny East, Communications Executive, The Prince’s Regeneration Trust.
Enter your email address below to join our mailing list: